Dark and Spooky


It turned out to be a nice and warm day.  It rained a little bit in the morning, but the afternoon was partly cloudy with the temperature in the sixties!  Just after sunset, I took a stroll through campus, camera in hand.  I walked around Hale Library, checking out different angles and thinking about doing a sunrise shot, but realized that it wouldn’t work since the Sun rose on the south side of the building.  So I kept walking and came up on Anderson Hall and something about the light, the lampposts, the wet pavement and the clouds just said spooky and haunted.  So I wanted to capture and convey that.

I shot this image hand-held, bracketing from -1 EV to +1 EV in Av mode.  I dialed up the ISO to 3200 to get the shutter speed fast enough to get a sharp image, since I didn’t have a tripod.  Initial processing was done in Photomatix Pro and sharpening was done in Photoshop.  I played around with different filters in Color Efex Pro 4 to get the look and mood I wanted.  If you haven’t yet, check out the Modern Film Filters.

Haunted/Spooky Anderson Hall at Kansas State University

Some details about this photo:
Camera: Pentax K-5
Lens: DA* 16-50
ISO: 3200
Focal Length: 16mm
Aperture: f/6.3
3 image HDR, bracketed from -1 EV to +1 EV

Leave a Reply

