Cicada Exoskeleton


Today’s photo is of a left behind, cicada shell/skin/exoskeleton.  According to the Wikipedia entry I browsed through, cicada spend most of their life in the ground.  When they finally decide to come out, these insects shed their skin in a process called molting, spread their wings, fly, and leave their external (exo) skeletons clinging to the tree.  That is what I found on a tree trunk right next to a side-walk.  It was just hanging there, waiting for me to take a picture.  But I procrastinated and waited and waited, too lazy to get the camera out, and after a few days of walking by this thing, (ya it was still there!!!), I finally did =).

I used the DA-L 55-300 with the Raynox DCR-150 attached to the front end.  Didn’t have a tripod with me, which would have made things easier, but I made do with what I had.

Cicada Exoskeleton1/150    f/16    78mm   ISO 800   Raynox DCR-150 Attached

4 thoughts on “Cicada Exoskeleton

    • The depth of field when using the Raynox DCR-150 with a 300mm zoom lens can be quite shallow with increasing magnification, but the magnification really brings out the detail. So it is a balance of magnification and getting enough depth that the detail is still in focus.

  1. Great photo! but a scary little bugger though…LOL.
    I also own a Raynox macroscopic lens, which I use mostly with my 50mm f/1.8 lens and I love that you can take macro shots with it, without breaking the bank.

Leave a Reply

