Passing on the Skills of the Trade


Early one morning at Lake Sebu, I was out taking photos.  As I was looking out over the lake, I saw this canoe moving along.  I kept watching it and saw that it was a father taking his son out on an early morning canoe ride.  They were going in circles around the water front of their bamboo house.  I thought it was just kind of cool, this close relationship between father and son.  They just kept paddling around and around, backing up, moving forward, maneuvering the canoe.

Canoe with father and son

Well, this canoe was quite a ways from where I was sitting, on a hill over looking the lake, at least a couple hundred meters.  It was only until I blew the picture up on the computer that I noticed that the son also had a paddle.  What happened on the lake wasn’t just a close father and son moment, it was a father teaching son moment, passing on the skills of living life on the lake.  Awesome!  It reminds me of the verse…

Proverbs 22:6 “Train a child in the way he should go, and when he is old he will not turn from it.”

Father and Son on a canoe

2 thoughts on “Passing on the Skills of the Trade

Leave a Reply

