Rainstorm


Today I was at a school at Lake Sebu, helping with a fencing project.  Sometime around 3 in the afternoon, dark clouds started to roll in and it looked like it was really gonna pour.  Maybe it wasn’t a very smart move, but I got the camera and tripod out and went out into the newly land prepped rice fields to get the power lines out of the frame and grab this shot.  I had to walk along rice paddy dikes.  Now, rice paddy dikes can be narrow, wide, dry, wet, hard or soft and muddy, and if you miss your step, well, into the wet and muddy paddy you go.  So there I was, hurrying along the dikes with a tripod and camera in hand, trying to get a photo before it started to rain.  Right before the spot where I wanted to set up, there was this part that looked like it was pretty solid and there was a short wood plank there.  The plank should have raised red flags… but it didn’t.

Muddy Dike

Rice Paddy Dike

Well, I took a quick step with my right foot onto the solid-looking dike and then my left on the wooden plank, and as soon as my right foot hit the dike it sank into the mud ankle-deep.  Good thing my left foot was already in motion and got onto the wooden plank before my right foot sank any further.  My shoe was muddy, but so what, I got the shot, and I think it was worth the muddy shoe and… maybe… the risk of getting the camera wet and muddy and messed up… maybe.  I did have to rush back cause it started to pour!  I moved the plank though so I could just take one step over the soft part of the dike.

Rainstorm

Rainstorm

f/16    ISO 100    18mm

2 thoughts on “Rainstorm

Leave a Reply

