Dragonfly


I was going through my Aperture library today, looking for a photo to share and I came across several dragonfly shots.  I’d rated these and there were quite a few images and various versions, and I had rated them way back when, so it was relatively easy to pick out the best one.  So, if you want to be able to easily pick out your best photos years from now, make sure to have a workflow that involves renaming, rating, key-wording and so on.

For this dragonfly photo, when I shot it, I remember taking a ton of photos.  I was using the Pentax k-x with DA-L 55-300 mm kit lens, mounted on a monopod.  The dragonfly kept flying around, landing from leaf to leaf.  Well the 55-300 isn’t exactly a fast focusing lens, so it was kind of frustrating.  But, eventually, I, came home with a keeper.  Well, at this point, it’s good enough for me.  Perseverance does pay off.

I’ve mentioned several times on this blog that I use Aperture 3, and if you have a mac and are looking for an “all-in-one” photo organizer, editor, etc. I would recommend Aperture 3.  Now, Aperture 3 does have a learning curve and the software is jam-packed with cool features and tools, that training would be advisable.  For that, I highly, highly recommend Joseph Linashke’s training videos over at Aperture Expert.  Definitely go check his site out, you will definitely learn a lot, and it’s not just all Aperture 3,  there is some real good workflow information as well.  His prices are great too.

Dragonfly

1/125    f/14    ISO 1000    260mm

Leave a Reply

