Black n Blue Butterfly


Back at the University of the Philippines Los Baños, right outside my department were a bunch of flowers.  I don’t know what flowers they were, but usually anywhere from 9 to 11 in the morning there was usually at least one butterfly or a bee flying around.  I love taking pictures of butterflies.  I think they are such beautiful little creatures.  They come in all sorts of colors and sizes and they are pretty easy to photograph.

For this picture, I used the Pentax K-r and the DA-L 55-300 mm kit lens.  I finally have a tripod with an awesome ball-head on it, the Vanguard ABH 230-k, and I used it for this shot.  I just want to say, using a tripod makes a big difference in terms of sharper photos.  If you have a tripod, use it.

Black and Blue Butterfly Resting on a Flower

Butterfly resting on a flower1/250      f8     ISO 400     225mm

Leave a Reply

